Finland’s national ORCID consortium

Finland’s national ORCID consortium was established in May 2016 and launched on 1 June 2016. Thirteen Finnish research organisations have initially joined the consortium, along with CSC – IT Center for Science, which has been commissioned by the Ministry of Education and Culture to act as the consortium’s coordinator. Consortium membership is open to all interested Finnish organisations.

Consortium members:

  • CSC – IT Center for Science Ltd
  • Hanken School of Economics
  • University of Helsinki
  • Helsinki and Uusimaa Hospital District
  • Finnish Meteorological Institute
  • University of Jyväskylä
  • Pirkanmaa Hospital District
  • Hospital District of Northern Savo
  • University of Arts Helsinki
  • Tampere University of Technology
  • The National Institute for Health and Welfare (THL)
  • University of Turku
  • University of Vaasa
  • Hospital District of Southwest Finland

Consortium (group) membership

Consortium (group) membership is a cheaper alternative for organisations than individual membership. The Ministry of Education and Culture has commissioned CSC to handle the making of agreements and general coordination of national consortium membership in Finland. In addition to the aforementioned benefits, ORCID offers technical support to consortium members.


Each organisation in the consortium must pay its own membership fee. The annual fee depends on the number of members and can be determined using the following table:

Annual membership fee/organisation*


*) In this table, membership fees for non-profit organisations have been calculated according to discounted prices that are 20% cheaper than standard membership fees.
**) The Basic membership fee allows use of the interface (Member API) in one information system.
**) The Premium membership fee allows use of the interface (Member API) in five information systems, provides a faster connection, and offers better technical support from ORCID. More detailed pricing information can be found on the ORCID website:

National ORCID consortia in other countries

Many other countries have also acquired national ORCID membership, including:

  • Denmark
  • Italy
  • Australia
  • UK

Are you interested in consortium membership?

More detailed information about consortium membership is available from Hanna-Mari Puuska, hanna-mari.puuska (at) or orcid-info (at)